RSS

My answers to condescending bullshit Atheist get to hear from Christians

21 Sep

I found this on my Facebook timeline today and I had a few giggles and now I want to answer to it 😀

12019777_913012292104168_4253283470051518294_n

#1: You know that phrase “you pray for me, I think for you”? 😀
#2: Still waiting
#3: Correct
#4: I am fine not knowing everything. I will not claim knowledge over things that can’t be proven though.
#5: So you must be an asshole if you need an external source in order to behave morally.
#6: Oh is that so?
#7: I do not believe in the concept of sin. What now?
#8: The fool says in his heart: “The earth is the centre of the universe!”
#9: I must be going through a fucking long phase then 😀 23 years and counting.
#10: I do not believe in the devil either, What now?

Here is the thing. I was babtized at 6 years old and my family made a big effort to raise me religiously from then on. And I bought into it because I was 6 years old. But the more my mom disagreed with certain things the church taught me, the less I bought into it. Until, when I was 9 years old, my dad explained that he is an Atheist because he does not believe in god. And I asked “Why?” And his answer was as simple as it can be: “Because there is no proof.”
And that is when I dropped it as well because it made sense. There is indeed no proof. And although, during those 3 religious years, I learnt a lot of things that were now deep in me (god the guy who sees everything I do, the devil, heaven, hell, sin, etc) I moved more and more away from Christianity. I would still go to church until I was 12 and by law allowed to chose religion for myself. And that is when I chose to leave church.

I bought into Witchcraft and it stayed that way for a very long time.

But I grew out of that too. Better late than never and I have been religion-clean for 7 years now. Feels great. A lot of weight and fear off my shoulders. No pressure to know about certain things any longer. Just an open mind and no shame in saying “I don’t know.”

I am an atheist and that is absolutely fine. And if someone has a problem with my lack of faith in anything, then they can go fuck themselves 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
