RSS

Interview @ Riot

31 Aug

A while ago I mentioned that I applied for a job at Riot Games so I thought I’d give you guys an update.

For starters I already had two interviews on Skype.
Both interviews were very nice. I didn’t receive a lot of standard interview questions.

During the first interview we realized that a position in player support might be better for me than the one I initially applied for.
A second interview with one of the managers in player support was set up.
This interview was very interesting and I felt like we were just … well geeking around about the game. There were a few questions about my past experience, my current job, and how I would like work. Toward the end, he said that I seem to have a “rioty” workstyle already. He said he would pass on some feedback and until I hear back, I could ask him anything at any time if I liked.

A week went by and I didn’t hear back. I thought that it might be because Gamescom was coming up. I went to Gamescom myself and enjoyed it πŸ™‚
A week after the gamescom (makes 2 weeks after the second interview) I hadn’t heard back. And since I am the type of person that likes a straight answer no matter if it’s a positive or negative, I wrote a quick email back. I simply asked if any feedback was received and if there were any news.

Two days later I received an email with an invitation to an onsite interview.
That’s how it is right now. I am trying to prepare but the more I read, the less I think that I can actually prepare. It seems like the on-site interviews with Riot Games are very pleasant but something I find in all the reviews I read > There is no pattern.

My friend referred me through her boyfriend who works there. The boyfriend told me to just enjoy that day because for him it was the nicest interview he ever had.

I guess that is what I should do for now. The interview is in a couple of weeks and I received some instructions and a lose schedule. I have to send back a form so they can do some background work as well.

So I am supposed to be there at about lunch time. And after signing a non-disclosure I will be taken out for lunch as first point of business. I was even asked for me preferences when it comes to food.
After that I am supposed to have 4 interviews.
The plan is that we are done at about 6m. Will see I guess.

I am super excited already and feel very honoured. Considering the amount of applications they get every day and I get an onsite interview… Too cool.

So far no surprises either. I read and heard before that the interview process at Riot Games takes very long and that it often takes a while to get a response to your emails. This is exactly what I am experiencing and the only reason why that doesn’t worry me is the fact that I knew about that beforehand.

Will keep you guys posted!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Interview @ Riot

  1. lohael

    October 19, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    Hi Leela! I just found your blog doing some research for an upcoming riot onsite interview day. I am trying to land an administrative role in the about to open MΓ©xico office. Anyway, I just wanted to know if you could share with me a line or two about your insights of that day that you were at their offices? Any comment will help me out!

    Thank you in advance!

     
    • Leela

      October 20, 2015 at 12:32 am

      Well I applied for player support in the Dublin office so it might be a little different for you. But here it goes:
      I had four interviews in a row (at that onsite interview day), and basically spoke to I think 6 people during those.
      There was a lot of gamer talk about LoL and the LCS which was on at the time.
      They asked some general feedback on the game and support I experienced.
      Then quickly moved on to deep questions about the job itself. So you really need to know your stuff.
      They also added a lot of questions that were aimed to see if I am a cultural fit and I think that the cultural fit.
      As far as I see, they would like open and honest people who know their strength and weakness. Do not tell them any phrases that you researched; meaning don’t tell them a weakness that is a strength in reality. It is fine to say that you have a foul mouth or that your desk is messy, as long as you are honest and happy to work on your weakness (you need to give that sign of course).
      I hope that helps a little. Good luck with the interview! Let me know how it went πŸ™‚

       
  2. lohael

    October 20, 2015 at 1:53 am

    Thank Leela! One last and quick question, did all of your interviews on site were face to face? or was there any video conference?

    I will sure let you know the out come!! Btw I enjoyed a lot those glimpses into your day to day and your mind hehe, congratz on your not so late honeymoon πŸ™‚

     
    • Leela

      October 20, 2015 at 9:55 pm

      All the interviews were face to face. But if you are in Mexico, I could imagine that some people would maybe call in via skype or something? My first two interviews (not onsite) were via skype too. So they are not shy to use modern technology, that is for sure.
      Also thanks for the feedback πŸ™‚

       
  3. lohael

    October 29, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    update: I managed to survive the onsite… after 10 interviews, face to face and via skype I got to the end of the day so tired. Finally I was told that I did good and would have a final interview in the days to come, it’s been a very long and hard process, let’s see if manage to close the deal.

    Thank your for help!

     
  4. lohael

    October 29, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    jeez my dislexia… Thanx for your help!

     
  5. Leela

    November 4, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    Hi lohael,
    I am happy to hear it went so well! Crossing my fingers that you survive the last one as well.
    Cheers!

     
  6. lohael

    November 5, 2015 at 3:34 pm

    I’m still waiting for the Yay or Nay…just for the information of anyone who finds your article and read this: during all the process they check your strengths and weakness and in the last intervew, the sponsor will challenge you on both, so make sure you hear everyone’s feedback and prepare yourself for the last one. Good luck to everyone!

     

Leave a Reply

 
